Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21’s looking to defend Under-21 title

Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21’s looking to defend Under-21 title

articles.comments (0)

The Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21 coach Nollis Marais named the same starting XV that beat The Sharks in the semi-final of the Absa Under-21 Provincial Championship last weekend to take on DHL Western Province in the final of the competition at DHL Newlands on Saturday.

The Blue Bulls team will try to defend the title they have won in 2012 and 2011, but will be up against it with Western Province not only enjoying home ground advantage, but a better winning percentage during the 2013 round-robin competition.

Marais see the final as an equaliser.

"Both sides will have their own pressures. The WP finished top of the log, but that will mean nothing this weekend as it is a case of winner takes all. We are very keen to defend the title, but realise that it will take a special effort," Marais said.

"We will see a lot of very talented players on the field on Saturday, so the margin of victory will be found in team play, belief and big match temperament. I would like to think we have all of that in our team."

The Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21 team is: Jacques Rossouw, Kefentse Mahlo, William Small-Smith (v/c), Jan Serfontein, Travis Ismaiel, Handre Pollard, Rudi van Rooyen, Clyde Davids, Jacques du Plessis, Wiaan Liebenberg (c), Irne Herbst, Paul Willemse, Hencus van Wyk, Jaco Visagie, Justin Forwood. Replacements: Ruan Steenkamp, Andrew Beerwinkel, Dennis Visser, Nardus van der Walt, Carlo Engelbrecht, Tony Jantjies, Dries Swanepoel.

Absa Under-21 Provincial Championship final

DHL Western Province vs Vodacom Blue Bulls

Referee: Rasta Rasivhenge
Assistant Referee: Christie du Preez, Stefan Breytenbach
TMO: Deon van Blommestein
Venue: DHL Newlands, Cape Town
Time: 14h30
Date: 26 October 2013

Pin It

Oct 23, 2013
DHL Western Province, Blue Bulls, The Sharks

(0) Vodacom Blue Bulls Under-21’s looking to defend Under-21 title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *