Liebenberg leads SA u.20 squad
25 April 2012

Vodacom Blue Bulls flanker Wian Liebenberg will lead the SA u.20 Junior World Cup squad in the JWC tournament to be held in Cape Town in June.

Liebenberg follow the footsteps of former Blue Bulls junior captains Arno Botha and CJ Stander who captained the side in the two previous competitions.

The 28-man squad was announced at the Stellenbosch Academy of Sport on Wednesday.

Vodacom Cheetahs fly half Johan Goosen, DHL Stormers prop Steven Kitshoff, MTN Lions lock Paul Willemse, Pieter-Steph du Toit (lock) and Paul Jordaan (centre, both The Sharks) are the five squad members who have all played in the demanding 2012 Vodacom Super Rugby competition, according to SA Rugby Communications.

The trio of Jordaan, William Small-Smith (centre) and Tshotsho Mbovane (wing) also boast international experience, having represented the Springbok Sevens in the HSBC Sevens World Series.

Several squad members also played Varsity Cup and Vodacom Cup rugby, while Marvin Orie led the Tuks Under-20 team to success in the Varsity Cup Young Guns competition.

Flyhalf Tony Jantjies is the younger brother of Elton, the Springbok pivot. Last week the younger Jantjies helped the SA U20 training squad to 2-0 series win over Argentina.

Dawie Theron, the SA U20 coach, said he was pleased with the squad and confident that the group of promising players will be able to stand up to the challenge of their formidable opponents.

“This is the best available group of players and I am delighted with the composition of the group. We are mindful of the fact that we did not perform to our potential last year, so that, and the fact that we are playing at home will obviously add to the pressure. The JWC is the pinnacle of a young player’s career and they will be determined to give it their best effort in front of our home fans,” added Theron.

The squad assembles on 24 May in Cape Town for a holding camp.

The SA U20 JWC group fixtures are as follows:

Mon 4 June: SA vs. Ireland (Danie Craven Stadium, 19h00)
Friday 8 June: SA vs. Italy (UWC Stadium, 19h00)
Tue 12 June: SA vs. England (Danie Craven Stadium, 19h00)

The full South Africa Under-20 squad for the Junior World Championship:

Dillyn Leyds (WP), Marais Schmidt (Golden Lions), Travis Ismaiel (Blue Bulls), Paul Jordaan (Sharks), Tshotsho Mbovane (WP), Dean Hammond (WP), Pat Howard (WP), Jan Serfontein (Blue Bulls), William Small-Smith (Blue Bulls), Johan Goosen (Cheetahs), Tony Jantjies (Blue Bulls), Abrie Griesel (Blue Bulls), Kevin Luiters (Free State), Shaun Adendorff (Blue Bulls), Fabian Booysen (Golden Leeus), Khaya Majola (Sharks), Wian Liebenberg (Blue Bulls, captain), Braam Steyn (Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Sharks), Marvin Orie (Blue Bulls), Ruan Botha (Golden Lions), Paul Willemse (Golden Lions), Allan Dell (KZN), Oliver Kebble (WP), Steven Kitshoff (WP), Nicholas van Dyk (Sharks), Mark Pretorius (Golden Lions), Jason Thomas (Blue Bulls).

Please log in at the top of the page to post comments
Dit lyk my so.
Posted by Honibal on 26 April 2012 08:18
"The squad assembles on 24 May in Cape Town for a holding camp."

Beteken dit dat Kitshoff nie beskikbaar sal wees vir die Sharks v Stormers sowel as die Bulls v Stormers wedstryde nie?
Posted by GeenBloutjieNetBlou on 25 April 2012 16:44
Highlights of the Super Rugby match between Vodacom Bulls and DHL Stormers, from Loftus Versfeld, Pretoria.

Pick your Super Rugby fantasy league

Play the Super Rugby prediction game

25 Junie. Giscard Pieters
27 Junie. Sias Wagner
28 Junie. Giel Eloff
28 Junie. Neil Powell
28 Junie. Daan Retief
29 Junie. Tommy du Plessis
29 Junie. Eben von Gericke
30 Junie. Jannie Claassens
30 Junie. Johan Visage
30 Junie. Boeta Wessels
1 Julie. Gert Kruger
1 Julie. Toffie Sharp