Stormers first up in Super Rugby
21 September 2012

Vodacom Super Rugby starts with a bang in Pretoria in 2013 with the Vodacom Bulls taking on 2012 South African conference winners, DHL Stormers in the opening weekend of local action. That same weekend, Super Rugby makes its long-awaited return to the Eastern Cape on 23 February when the Southern Kings host Australia’s Western Force (kick off 19h10) in the final match of the first full round.

The season opens in South Africa with the North-South derby at Loftus Versfeld. Last season’s finalists, The Sharks, travel to Bloemfontein to meet the Toyota Cheetahs (kick off 17h05)

The Southern Kings kick off their debut season in the tournament at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth at the end of a round otherwise studded with conference derbies.

The fixtures were announced by SANZAR today (Friday) in a new-look draw which features a staggered start, and staggered resumption after the June internationals, to accommodate the British & Irish Lions’ tour of Australia.

The Australian teams kick off one week earlier, and close one week later, as well as resuming two weeks later in July after the international window, in order to manage the extended Lions’ schedule.

The tournament actually kicks off on February 15 but only Australian Conference teams will be in action. The same will occur in round 17 (just before the Vodacom Super Rugby season ‘breaks’ for the June inbounds), while rounds 18 and 19 (after the break) will feature only New Zealand and South African Conference teams.

“The Lions tour to Australia presented some unique challenges in preparing the 2013 Super Rugby draw,” SANZAR CEO Greg Peters said.

“We are very appreciative of the cooperation we received from the National Unions and broadcasters in preparing this draw and working through the issues.”

Peters said there was much excitement building despite being months out.

“Over the last two seasons we have seen two franchises – the Reds and the Chiefs –win the Super Rugby trophy for the first time,” Peters said.

“The emphasis in early rounds is again on local derbies that have again proven to be the most watched and attended matches in 2012.”

There is Sunday play in 2013 with the Blues hosting the Vodacom Bulls in round four, while the Waratahs will host consecutive Sunday fixtures in rounds six and seven – with the Crusaders, Brumbies and Force other teams to play on the last day of the weekend throughout the season.

Peters said the draw would build on the successes of 2012.

“The 2012 Super Rugby season was the most watched season of Super Rugby ever, both in terms of those attending matches live and also viewing on television. The 2013 draw will hopefully see us grow those numbers again,” he said.

The Vodacom Super Rugby Finals Series starts on Friday, 19 July, with the Super Rugby Qualifiers scheduled for that weekend – while the Super Rugby Semi-Finals will take place on 26 / 27 July, with the Super Rugby Final to be played on Saturday, 3 August.

The Vodacom Bulls schedule is:

Round One
Only Australian teams

Round Two
22 Feb: Vodacom Bulls v Stormers (Pretoria)

Round Three
2 March: Vodacom Bulls v Western Force (Pretoria)

Round Four
10 March: Blues v Vodacom Bulls (TBC)

Round Five
16 March: Crusaders v Vodacom Bulls (Christchurch)

Round Six
23 March: Red v Vodacom Blue Bulls (Brisbane)

Round Seven
30 March: Brumbies v Vodacom Bulls (Canberra)

Round Eight
Vodacom Bulls bye

Round Nine
13 April: Vodacom Bulls v Cheetahs (Pretoria)

Round Ten
20 April: Kings v Vodacom Bulls (Port Elizabeth)

Round Eleven
27 April: Vodacom Bulls v Waratahs (Pretoria)

Round Twelve
4 May: Vodacom Bulls v Hurricanes (Pretoria)

Round Thirteen
Vodacom Bulls bye

Round Fourteen
18 May: Vodacom Bulls v Highlanders (Pretoria)

Round Fifteen
25 May: Sharks v Vodacom Bulls (Durban)

Round Sixteen
1 June: Cheetahs v Vodacom Bulls (Bloemfontein)

Round Seventeen
Australian Teams only

Round Eighteen
29 June: Vodacom Bulls v Kings (Pretoria)

Round Nineteen
6 July: Vodacom Bulls v Sharks (Pretoria)

Round Twenty
13 July: Stormers v Vodacom Bulls

Super Rugby Qualifiers

19 & 20 July

Super Rugby Semifinals

26 & 27 July

Super Rugby Final

3 August

Please log in at the top of the page to post comments
Wanner verval die afrigting span se kontrakte.
Posted by Richie Bloumasjien on 21 September 2012 15:20
Daar is niks fout met Morne Steyn hy sal weer op dreef kom , kom ons kyk volgende jaar hoe braak die Kings
Hulle kla al klaar oor die moeilike wedstyde wat wag vir hulle, Sterkte vir die Bulle Môre en ons weet julle kan die Cheetahs klop
Posted by Corneluis on 21 September 2012 15:15
Kyk nou net hoe moedswillig is die webbie! Plaas 'n foto van Morné Steyn by volgende seisoen se program. Hoe moet ons nou uitsien na 2013?!
Posted by Houtoog on 21 September 2012 14:10
Highlights of the Currie Cup semifinal between The Sharks and Vodacom Blue Bulls from Mr Price Kings Park, Durban.
1 Des. Sid Kingsley (Oorlede)
3 Des. Tiaan Joubert
3 Des. Tommy Webb
4 Des . Braam Faure
4 Des . Deon Oosthuisen
4 Des. Kresence Swanepoel
4 Des. Murray Bondesio
5 Des . Gavin September
5 Des . Wynie Strydom
6 Des . Gerhard Klerck
6 Des . Eugene Meyer
6 Des. Francois Rossouw
9 Des . Bees Roux
9 Des. Elandré vd Bergh
10 Des. Jaco Pretorius
11 Des. Alan Faber
11 Des. Wikus Lock
12 Des. Bill(Os) Odendaal
14 Des . Barend Brits
14 Des . Bags Cilliers (Oorlede)
14 Des. Chris Maree
14 Des. Graham Noonan
15 Des . Dolf Bekker
15 Des . Dirk Coetsee
15 Des . Fief Ferreira
15 Des . Theuns Koekemoer
15 Des. André van Staden
16 Des . Bernard Pienaar
17 Des. Jaco Engels
17 Des. Dewald Kamffer
17 Des. Xander Redelinghuys
18 Des. AJ le Roux
18 Des. Leon Piek
21 Des . Morné Human
21 Des . Dries van Schalkwyk
21 Des. Piston van Wyk
22 Des. Kobus Archer
22 Des . Leon Barnard
22 Des . Jacques Bisshoff
22 Des . Kenneth Ford
22 Des . Pierre Spies (Snr) Oorlede
23 Des. Org Cronjé
23 Des . At Oosthuizen
24 Des. Rudi Durandt
26 Des. Jamie Prinsloo
26 Des. Andrew Williamson
26 Des. Lourens van Heerden
28 Des. Warren Brosnihan
29 Des . FP Naude
29 Des . Henry Tromp
30 Des. Lourens Campher
30 Des. Pieter Scholtz
30 Des . Braam Willemse
31 Des . Mark Fourie
31 Des . Eddie Fredericks
31 Des . LM Smit
31 Des. Donnie Verster