Blue Bulls in one-way alley
28 September 2012

There is no turning back for the Vodacom Blue Bulls in Durban on Friday when they take on The Sharks in an Absa Currie Cup match.

The fifth-placed side take on the second-placed home side in a match where they cannot afford to lose if they want to have hosting rights once the play-off stages are reached in a couple of weeks.

Their season has been a one way road, with no more chance to turn around. They need to keep on going forward and keep on winning and are effectively playing 'knock-out' rugby for the next few weeks and will need a repeat of last week's heroics against the Cheetahs.

The Bulls, like The Sharks, are missing a number of key players - mostly due to national team call-ups.

The Sharks and Blue Bulls always bring the best out of each other, but it will have to be the very, very best from the Pretoria side if they want to win.

Vodacom Blue Bulls coach Pine Pienaar admitted that.

"My biggest concern is that we had soft moments again in the game," Pienaar told earlier this week.

"There was a knock-on on our 22, from that scrum they [the Cheetahs] attacked [and eventually scored from]. The third try, which they scored through Marcel van der Merwe, two minutes from time, we lost the ball from a short restart.

"It is more individual focus that we have the get right. They are a very dangerous team with turnover ball - players like Keegan Daniel, Cobus Reinach and Louis Ludik are the kind of players that will make you pay.

"That is why it is vital that we cut down completely on the turnovers [we concede] and penalties in the game."

The teams are:

The Sharks: 15 Riaan Viljoen, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Paul Jordaan, 12 Tim Whitehead, 11 Louis Ludik, 10 Meyer Bosman, 9 Cobus Reinach, 8 Keegan Daniel (captain), 7 Jean Deysel, 6 Jacques Botes, 5 Anton Bresler, 4 Steven Sykes, 3 Wiehahn Herbst, 2 Pieter Dixon, 1 Dale Chadwick. Replacements: 16 Kyle Cooper, 17 Julian Redelinghuys, 18 Jandre Marais, 19 Lubabalo Mtembu, 20 Charl McLeod, 21 Marius Joubert, 22 S’bura Sithole.

Vodacom Blue Bulls: 15 Jürgen Visser, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Francois Venter, 11 Sampie Mastriet, 10 Louis Fouché, 9 Jano Vermaak, 8 CJ Stander, 7 Arno Botha, 6 Dewald Potgieter (captain), 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Wilhelm Steenkamp, 3 Werner Kruger, 2 Willie Wepener, 1 Morné Mellett. Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Frik Kirsten, Grant Hattingh, Warwick Tecklenburg, Ruan Snyman, Lionel Cronjé, Ulrich Beyers.


Front Row Grunt: Sharks by 7
Rugby 365: The Sharks have the fire power to go all the way, but they have been erratic at times. Last week was a classic example of a team with all the potential, but unable to land the killer blow. The Bulls have been vulnerable, a team that lacks experience in key positions. If the Sharks strike early they can knock the Bulls out of the play-off race. The Sharks to win by 10 to 15 points.

Kick-off: 19h10
Referee: Mark Lawrence
Assistant referees: Ben Crouse, Reuben Rossouw
TMO: Johann Meuwesen

Please log in at the top of the page to post comments
Mark Lawrence - shake your head your eyeballs are stuck!
Posted by Barrybul on 28 September 2012 20:52
Not too bad Bulls considering the conditions, I thought with the ref we were going to find it hard to win anyway, a little too much kicking unnecessary, maybe Lionel would have been a better option in the weather and on the day!
Posted by Barrybul on 28 September 2012 20:51
Pathetic commentators, Dixon intentionally kicked the player, commentators are supposed to be unbiased!
Posted by Barrybul on 28 September 2012 20:34
Hoe positief ek ook al wil wees kan ek nie n wen sien oor die volgende drie wedstryde nie, Sharks, WP en Leeus. Die prys wat die BBRU op hulself gebring het deur hul swak beplanning.
Posted by Bluedog on 28 September 2012 15:14
dit reen hier in durban maar kan ni wag om kings park toe te gaan om di bulle te sien wen ni ek hoop ons het n game plan vir di reen en dat ons hande ons ni in di steek sal laat ni bulle ons is agter julle jul is ons span dishoekom almal so hard is met julle sterkte bulle
Posted by kzn bul on 28 September 2012 13:22
As mens die spelers een vir een vergelyk, dan is daar min verskil tussen die 2 spanne, behalwe die vaste vyf (as eenheid), nr 10 en ou gameplan?
Die Bulle sal uit hulle vel moet speel om hierdie een deur te trek - KOM ONS HOOP SO!
Posted by Paarlbul on 28 September 2012 12:51
I dont know what has happened to us this year - the team should be good enough to face anyone and beat them. Anyway I have picked the Bulls on my Superbru picks to win by 4. I know we can do it - just get in there early with some points and the rest of the game is ours. So glad that Stander is starting. GO BULLS !!!
Posted by BullsRbest on 28 September 2012 12:00
Alhoewel ek die laaste tyd 'n bietjie hard op die Bulle was, wil ek net vir die manne sterkte sê. Gaan groot, "There could be but only one".....
Posted by Honibal on 28 September 2012 11:40
kom bulle gee vanaand alles laat ons daai sharks n rugby les gee
go bulls
Posted by louisk on 28 September 2012 11:12
btw 1ste soos die bulle kan wees vanaand as die regte span opdaag. Ek hoop die sharks onderskat ons
Posted by Old Blue Eyes on 28 September 2012 11:08
Ek sien Dries Scholts verjaar vandag. Ek wonder of Jorrie Muller sal onthou om hom geluk te wens. Ek wonder of Jorrie nog enige iets kan onthou sedert 2002 hehe
Posted by Old Blue Eyes on 28 September 2012 11:06
Highlights of the Currie Cup semifinal between The Sharks and Vodacom Blue Bulls from Mr Price Kings Park, Durban.
1 Des. Sid Kingsley (Oorlede)
3 Des. Tiaan Joubert
3 Des. Tommy Webb
4 Des . Braam Faure
4 Des . Deon Oosthuisen
4 Des. Kresence Swanepoel
4 Des. Murray Bondesio
5 Des . Gavin September
5 Des . Wynie Strydom
6 Des . Gerhard Klerck
6 Des . Eugene Meyer
6 Des. Francois Rossouw
9 Des . Bees Roux
9 Des. Elandré vd Bergh
10 Des. Jaco Pretorius
11 Des. Alan Faber
11 Des. Wikus Lock
12 Des. Bill(Os) Odendaal
14 Des . Barend Brits
14 Des . Bags Cilliers (Oorlede)
14 Des. Chris Maree
14 Des. Graham Noonan
15 Des . Dolf Bekker
15 Des . Dirk Coetsee
15 Des . Fief Ferreira
15 Des . Theuns Koekemoer
15 Des. André van Staden
16 Des . Bernard Pienaar
17 Des. Jaco Engels
17 Des. Dewald Kamffer
17 Des. Xander Redelinghuys
18 Des. AJ le Roux
18 Des. Leon Piek
21 Des . Morné Human
21 Des . Dries van Schalkwyk
21 Des. Piston van Wyk
22 Des. Kobus Archer
22 Des . Leon Barnard
22 Des . Jacques Bisshoff
22 Des . Kenneth Ford
22 Des . Pierre Spies (Snr) Oorlede
23 Des. Org Cronjé
23 Des . At Oosthuizen
24 Des. Rudi Durandt
26 Des. Jamie Prinsloo
26 Des. Andrew Williamson
26 Des. Lourens van Heerden
28 Des. Warren Brosnihan
29 Des . FP Naude
29 Des . Henry Tromp
30 Des. Lourens Campher
30 Des. Pieter Scholtz
30 Des . Braam Willemse
31 Des . Mark Fourie
31 Des . Eddie Fredericks
31 Des . LM Smit
31 Des. Donnie Verster