In 1938 the then Northern Transvaal Rugby Union broke away from the Transvaal Rugby Football Union to gain status as an independent rugby union. The new team was named Northern Transvaal and donned light blue jerseys with a red Barberton daisy.  

In 1997 the Union underwent a name change to the Blue Bulls Rugby Union and in 2013 The BBRU celebrated their 75th year of independance.