Player of the Week – Mornè Steyn
28 April 2013

There have been some fine individual performances by the Vodacom Bulls and Vodacom Blue Bulls players this week, but no one excelled more than Bulls pivot Mornè Steyn. Scoring most of his side’s points has now become habit for the 115 times capped pivot and he did not disappoint against the Waratahs. Steyn scored 25 points in their 30-19 win and finished off the match with a crucial penalty and then converted his own well-taken try.

It was his 13th in the competition and he raced past 100 points for the season in his ninth match of the season, eight of which he started.

Steyn had some fine moments in a long career at Loftus Versfeld, but again proved to those who wrote his obituary last season that form might be temporarily, but class is permanent. And Steyn is class.


Physical: 1, 84 cm & 91 kg
DOB: 11 July 1984, Bellville


Film: Taken, The Hangover
Music: R&B;, Anything relaxing
Food: Boerekos
Education: Fichardtpark PS, Bloemfontein & Sand du Plessis, Bloemfontein

Springbok number : 803
Test debut: 20 June 2009 vs British & Irish Lions in Durban, aged 24
Total tests : 42
Win Ratio: 24-15-2

Holds record for most points in a Rugby Championship / Tri-Nations Test (31) and most points in a Test by a Springbok against New Zealand (31). He also holds world record for the player who scored all points in a test match (31).
Springbok record holder for the fastest to 400 Test points (33 Tests).
First South African player and third overall to reach 1000 points in Vodacom Super Rugby (2012).
Honours: SA Rugby Player of the Year nominee (2009); Test Player of the Castle SA 2009 Lions Series (2009); Vodacom Super 14 Player of the Year (2009); Player's Player of the Year (2009).

1 Des Sid Kingsley (Oorlede)
3 Des Tiaan Joubert
3 Des Tommy Webb
4 Des Braam Faure
4 Des Deon Oosthuisen
4 Des Kresence Swanepoel
4 Des Murray Bondesio
5 Des Gavin September
15 Des Dolf Bekker
6 Des Gerhard Klerck
6 Des Eugene Meyer
6 Des Francois Rossouw
9 Des Bees Roux
9 Des Elandré vd Bergh
10 Des Jaco Pretorius
11 Des Alan Faber
11 Des Wikus Lock
12 Des Bill(Os) Odendaal
14 Des Barend Brits
14 Des Bags Cilliers (Oorlede)
14 Des Chris Maree
14 Des Graham Noonan
14 Des Graham Noonan