Blue Bulls name Vodacom Cup side

articles.comments (0)

It can be seen as a Junior Springboks reunion, but it is in fact the Blue Bulls Vodacup side that will face GWK Griquas in Kimberley on Saturday in the opening weekend of the Vodacom Cup.
No less than 11 players in the starting line-up has played for the South African Under-20 side before, and inside centre Dries Swanepoel (photo) is in the final training squad of the side that will play in the Junior World Championship in France in June.

Super Rugby veteran Wilhelm Steenkamp will lead the team in Kimberley though.

The lock just returned from a shoulder injury and will be joined in the pack by Vodacom Bulls prop Dawie Steyn, who is on the comeback trail following a broken leg.

Pace man Sampie Mastriet, who scored on debut for the Vodacom Bulls against the Western Force last weekend, will also play on the wing.

The team to face Griquas at 15h00 is: Ulrich Beyers, Travis Ismaiel, Dries Swanepoel, Francois Venter, Sampie Mastriet, Tony Jantjies, Rudy Paige, Jean Cook, Nardus van der Walt, Wiaan Liebenberg, Wilhelm Steenkamp (c), Paul Willemse, Stephanus Pretorius, Kurt Haupt, Dawie Steyn. Replacements: Bongi Mbonambi, Louis Albertse, Cornell Hess, Jacques Verwey, Ruan Snyman, Handrè Pollard, Damian Van Wyk.

•Tournament debutants, the Assupol Limpopo Blue Bulls also named their side. They face the Griffons in their opening match, to be played at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

Their team is: Robin Goliath, Ruan Muller, Werner van Heese, Ludwig Gossman, Damian Flink, Bronwyn Craill, Theyman Jongbloed, Jaco Swart, Jaco Louw, Arrie van der Berg, Wiehann Uys, JJ de Lange, Bernard Groenewalt, Chris Crous, Johan Coetzer. Replacements: JP Ferreira, Dickson Mboweni, Andries Botha, Rudi Grobler, Willem Snyman, Wikus Davel, Justin Pelser.


Pin It

Mar 06, 2013
The Vodacom Bulls, Junior Springboks, GWK Griquas, Vodacom Cup

(0) Blue Bulls name Vodacom Cup side

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *