Victor Matfield amongst 8 Vodacom Bulls in Bok squad

Victor Matfield amongst 8 Vodacom Bulls in Bok squad

articles.comments (3)

Eight Vodacom Bulls in first Bok squad of the year, including first time call-ups for Marcel van der Merwe and Jacques du Plessis.

There are eight uncapped players in all.

Springbok coach Heyneke Meyer said he was happy with the form of a number of the country’s top players and the uncapped players who have grabbed their chance this season, as well as the re-appearance from retirement of Matfield.

“Victor and Schalk (Burger) have been out of rugby for a long time. They’ve really been in great form recently and the fact that they have not been with the Boks for more than two years, has made them hungry for Test rugby yet again,” said Meyer.

“It’s great to welcome them back into the Springbok fold and I know both of them can still add a lot of value to the team with the Rugby World Cup in 2015 looming.

“However, the message to every player in this training squad is clear – everyone must accelerate in each area from the first moment we are together as a team and that inclusion in this squad is no guarantee of selection.”

Meyer said that injuries had been a concern but they had allowed other players to press their claims. A number of players in the squad are still nursing niggles or recently returned from long-term injuries.

“It looks like most of the guys are improving weekly and a few new players have put up their hands, which is good to see with the first match of the season, against the World XV in Cape Town, only a few weeks away.” said Meyer.

“It’s also very encouraging to see a bunch of new players emerging from Vodacom Super Rugby. This camp will provide us with a great opportunity to work with these players before the squad for the Castle Lager Incoming Series is finalised. I am looking forward to work with these players for the first time.

“This is a very big year for us and the players know they will have to step up a gear, be sharp and focused from the moment we get going in Durban. We have 14 very challenging matches ahead in 2014 and it’s imperative that we build on what was a good season last year.

“It’s important that we start building continuity because there are just 18 matches left until the Rugby World Cup starts. But it’s just as important to recognise continuous good form. We also have a number of players struggling with injury niggles or returning from injury which we have to assess.”

Players who were involved with the Springboks last year, but were not considered for selection because of medium to long-term injuries, are Scarra Ntubeni (foot), Chiliboy Ralepelle (knee), Frik Kirsten (neck), Pieter-Steph du Toit (knee), Franco van der Merwe (ankle), Arno Botha (knee), Pierre Spies (bicep), Louis Schreuder (hand), Pat Lambie (bicep), Gio Aplon (elbow) and Jaque Fourie, who could potentially miss the entire Test season because of an ankle injury.

The 36-man Springbok training squad is:

Forwards (20): Tendai Mtawarira (Cell C Sharks), Trevor Nyakane (Toyota Cheetahs), Marcel van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls)*, Jannie du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Frans Malherbe (DHL Stormers), Coenie Oosthuizen (Toyota Cheetahs), Bismarck du Plessis (Cell C Sharks), Adriaan Strauss (Toyota Cheetahs), Eben Etzebeth (DHL Stormers), Lood de Jager (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Victor Matfield (Vodacom Bulls), Flip van der Merwe (Vodacom Bulls), Heinrich Brüssow (Toyota Cheetahs), Marcell Coetzee (Cell C Sharks), Siya Kolisi (DHL Stormers), Willem Alberts (Cell C Sharks), Jacques du Plessis (Vodacom Bulls)*, Teboho Mohoje (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Duane Vermeulen (DHL Stormers), Schalk Burger (DHL Stormers).

Backs (16): Fourie du Preez (Suntory, Japan), Francois Hougaard (Vodacom Bulls), Johan Goosen (Toyota Cheetahs), Marnitz Boshoff (Lions)*, Jean de Villiers (DHL Stormers), Damian De Allende (DHL Stormers)*, Jan Serfontein (Vodacom Bulls), Juan de Jongh (DHL Stormers), JJ Engelbrecht (Vodacom Bulls), S’bura Sithole (Cell C Sharks)*, Frans Steyn (Cell C Sharks), Lwazi Mvovo (Cell C Sharks), Bjorn Basson (Vodacom Bulls), JP Pietersen (Cell C Sharks), Cornal Hendricks (Toyota Cheetahs)*, Willie le Roux (Toyota Cheetahs).

Pin It

May 19, 2014
Victor Matfield

(3) Victor Matfield amongst 8 Vodacom Bulls in Bok squad

  1. Het geweet Victor en Flip gaan daar wees. Ek dink Paul Willemse is ongelukkig om nie daar te wees nie. Geluk aan Marcel en Jacques - verseker hulle vorm van die Super rugby wat hulle daar gekry het. As ek so kyk na die min hakers en slegs 4 slotte waarvan een nog terugkom van besering en een 'n nuwe outjie is, dan is daar heel waarskynlik 'n paar oorsese spelers wat ingetrek word in daardie posisies vir die Bokke lyk dit vir my.

    Behalwe Victor en Flip en moontlik Francois Hougaard en Jan Serfontein kan ek nie sien dat die ander veel speeltyd gaan kry by die Bokke nie...
  2. gravatar Bloukaap says:
    Baie bly vir die jong manne Marcel en jacques.

    Ek voel ook Willemse baie ongelukkig om dit nie te kon maak nie. dink nie die twee Cheetahs slotte was regtig so briljant nie.

    Dan ook geluk aan Marnitz Boshoff wie se skuif leeus toe waarksynlik die beste van sy loopbaan was. Hy verdien dit.

    Goed om te sien Heyneke bring weer fetchers terug in die mix.
  3. gravatar Bullebakkies says:
    Hoekom is Jono nie in Heyneke se groep nie? ; )

    JJ kan homself gelukkig ag, hy nie op sy beste gewees sover vanjaar nie. Wonder wie Bok senters gaan wees? Jean en JJ? Jean en Jan? Frans en Jean?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *