It is Carlton Rugby time again

It is Carlton Rugby time again
The BBRU Carlton Rugby Club Competition starts Thursday and Saturday this week, reports club rugby reporter, Johanna de Vos.A few changes were made for the good of the competition. The u20 and u21 teams will compete Thursdays and the senior teams over the weekends. The competition will be played over a double round, on a home and away basis. After Round 1 the club top of the Carlton A log shall automatically be the winners of the Lucas Strachan Shield.
At the end of the two rounds, the top four in each league shall qualify for the semi-finals, and the winners here will go through to the finals. The winner of Carlton B League (previously known as First League) and Carlton C League (previously known as President’s League) may apply to the BBRU to play a promotion/relegation match against the team that finishes last on the higher league.
The Carlton Competition are divided into three leagues A, B and C.
To qualify for Carlton A League the clubs must field three senior teams ( 1st, 2nd, 3rd) and two junior teams (u20, u21). Clubs unable to comply to the above, fall under Reserve Clubs.
The Reserve Clubs will participate in two leagues, namely Carlton B League (must have three senior teams) and Carlton C League (must have two senior teams).
In Carlton A the seven rugby clubs participating are: Dragons, Centurion, Harlequins, Impala, Naka Bulls, Police and Tuks. In Carlton B eleven rugby clubs participating are: Attridgeville/Medunsa, Bronkhortspruit, Brits, Cullinan, Eersterust, Correctional Services, Noordelikes, Oostelike Eagles, Tuine, TUT and Silver Valke. In Carlton C the eight Rugby clubs participating are: Hartebeespoort, Mamelodi/Mabopane, Military, Soshanguve, Stanza, Transnet Parks, Tswaing and Westelikes. TUT (Tswane University of Technology) and Oostelike Eagles are now playing in Carlton B due to unforeseen circumstances. They will be sorely missed in Carlton A and we wish them all the best and hope they will be back next year.
Dragons are welcomed into the Carlton A League fold as they were promoted after last years good performances in the First League.
Platinum Cup: Rustenburg Impala Club from North-West will again compete against the other Carlton clubs but in a separate competition on a home and away basis. Like last year they may not qualify for the Carlton play-offs. A separate final will be hosted at the venue of the club that finishes highest on the Platinum log. This year there is no way some clubs can withdraw from playing against Impala as they will lose league points.
Fixtures Carlton A (Home teams first) Subject to change:
Naka Bulls vs Quins; Police vs Centurion; Tuks vs Impala.Thursday: 19h00 u20 and 20h30 u21 Saturday: 14h00 Third team; 15h15 Second team; 16h45 First team.Dragons have a bye.

Leave a comment