Junior Springbok flair added to Vodacom Blue Bulls U21 cause

Vodacom Blue Bulls U21 head coach, Nollis Marais, has included two 2019 Junior Springboks in his match day squad that will meet the defending champions, the Xerox Golden Lions U21, in their SA Rugby U21 Championship match at Loftus Versfeld on Friday, 5 July 2019.

Outside centre Marnus Potgieter and lock Janko Swanepoel have both recently returned from the World Rugby U20 Championship in Argentina where they helped the Junior Springboks to secure the bronze medal against the hosts last month.

They replace Diego Appollis and Ruan Nortje with both players dropping out of the team as the Vodacom Blue Bulls U21 look to continue their impressive form in this year’s campaign.

Marais made several other changes to his team with Sebastiaan Jobb starting on the right wing while Gershwin Mouton shifts to the left wing.

On the bench, Keegan Johannes and Sango Xamlashe will have the opportunity to get game time in place of Johan Mulder and Kabelo Mokoena.

Kick-off is at 14:00 and supporters are encouraged to come out and support the team with the match serving as the curtain raiser for the Vodacom Blue Bulls’ Currie Cup warm-up match against the Phakisa Pumas.

Vodacom Blue Bulls U21: 15. Andrew Kota, 14. Sebastiaan Jobb, 13. Marnus Potgieter, 12. Wian van Niekerk, 11. Gershwin Mouton, 10. Fiela Boshoff, 9. Lian du Toit, 8. Muller Uys (C), 7. Hanru Sirgel, 6. JC Pretorius, 5. Janko Swanepoel, 4. Ryno Pieterse, 3. Mornay Smith, 2. Werner Fourie, 1. Dewald Maritz.

Replacements: 16. Joe van Zyl, 17. Wiehan Bezuidenhout, 18. Carl Els, 19. Ewart Potgieter, 20. Keegan Johannes, 21. Lionel April, 22. Sango Xamlashe, 23. Cabous Eloff.