Strauss, Kriel in Bok squad, Nyakane to pass fitness test

Springbok training squad named for Castle Lager Rugby Championship
Springbok coach Allister Coetzee named Adriaan Strauss as captain and named Jesse Kriel in his squad of 31 players for the opening two matches of the 2016 Castle Lager Rugby Championship against Argentina.He also included uncapped Malcolm Marx and recalled Oupa Mohoje, Vincent Koch, Juan de Jongh, Francois Hougaard, Bryan Habana and Johan Goosen.
Overall, seven changes have been made to the squad that did duty against Ireland in the Castle Lager Incoming Test Series in June. Injured players not considered for selection are Frans Malherbe, Coenie Oosthuizen, Jan Serfontein, Pat Lambie, Handré Pollard, Cobus Reinach and Siya Kolisi.
The Springbok squad will assemble in stages from tomorrow (Sunday, 7 August) in Johannesburg. The nine Emirates Lions players who featured in the Vodacom Super Rugby Final earlier on Saturday will join on Wednesday with the six overseas-based players and two Olympians due to join on Sunday, 14 August.
The remaining squad members assemble tomorrow for a week’s preparations before the full squad of 31 players move camp to Nelspruit (14 August) to continue their preparations for the first Test against Argentina, on 20 August in the Mbombela Stadium.
The selection of prop Trevor Nyakane is subject to medical clearance.
Meanwhile, Coetzee has decided that Chean Roux will take charge of the Bok defensive coaching duties. Roux, who previously assisted the Boks as part of the Mobi Unit on refereeing and technical aspects, fills the vacancy left by Jacques Nienaber who recently left the Mobi Unit and SA Rugby to take up a post at Irish club Munster.
The Springbok squad for the Castle Lager Rugby Championship is:
1. Ruan Combrinck Wing Emirates Lions 2 caps 2. Damian de Allende Centre DHL Stormers 16 caps3. Lood de Jager Lock Toyota Cheetahs 20 caps4. Juan de Jongh Centre DHL Stormers 14 caps5. Faf de Klerk Scrumhalf Emirates Lions 3 caps6. Pieter-Steph du Toit Lock DHL Stormers 11 caps7. Eben Etzebeth Lock DHL Stormers 47 caps8. Johan Goosen Utility Back Racing Metro (France) 6 caps9. Bryan Habana Wing Toulon (France) 117 caps10. Francois Hougaard Utility Back Worcester (England) 35 caps11. Elton Jantjies Flyhalf Emirates Lions 5 caps12. Steven Kitshoff Prop Bordeaux (France) 1 cap13. Vincent Koch Prop DHL Stormers/Steval Pumas 2 caps14. Jaco Kriel Flank Emirates Lions 1 cap15. Jesse Kriel Centre Vodacom Bulls 12 caps16. Francois Louw Flank Bath (England) 46 caps17. Lionel Mapoe Centre Emirates Lions 4 caps18. Malcolm Marx Hooker Emirates Lions 0 caps19. Bongi Mbonambi Hooker DHL Stormers 1 cap20. Teboho Mohoje Flank Toyota Cheetahs 8 caps21. Franco Mostert Lock Emirates Lions 2 caps22. Tendai Mtawarira Prop Cell C Sharks 78 caps23. Lwazi Mvovo Wing Cell C Sharks 17 caps24. Sikhumbuzo Notshe Flank DHL Stormers 0 caps25. *Trevor Nyakane Prop Vodacom Bulls 25 caps26. Rudy Paige Scrumhalf Vodacom Bulls 3 caps 27. Julian Redelinghuys Prop Emirates Lions 5 caps28. Morne Steyn Flyhalf Stade Francais (France) 61 caps29. Adriaan Strauss (captain) Hooker Vodacom Bulls 57 caps30. Duane Vermeulen No 8 Toulon (France) 37 caps31. Warren Whiteley No 8 Emirates Lions 6 caps*Subject to medical clearance

Leave a comment