Vodacom Blue Bulls remember first Currie Cup win at Loftus Versfeld

The Vodacom Blue Bulls have celebrated 80 years of heritage throughout 2018 and Friday, 28 September will see the #BullsFamily look back fondly to a date that saw Northern Transvaal lift the Currie Cup for the first time at Loftus Versfeld.


The year was 1946 and the opponents none other than Western Province. In a time where points scoring was completely different than what we are used to now, Northern Transvaal beat their Cape rivals 11-9 after leading 4-3 at half time in what will be a memory that will be cherished forever by the #BullsFamily.


Northern Transvaal scorers - Try: Johnnie Strydom; Drop goals: Hansie Brewis (2).


Northern Transvaal: 15. George Symington, 14. Johnnie Lourens, 13. Hannes de Villiers, 12. Attie Botha, 11. Daan Retief, 10. Hansie Brewis, 9. Fonnie du Toit, 8. Floors Perry, 7. Fiks van der Merwe, 6. Louis Strydom, 5. Doerie van DeVenter, 4. Flip Geel (c), 3. PJ van Rensburg, 2. Jorrie Jordaan, 1. Jan Botha.

Replacements: 16. Morrie Pollard, 17. At Spengler, 18. Colin Mostert.

Leave a comment